Skip to content

The Keys to Sibling Friendship

September 5, 2014

Since having our second child, nothing in this world brings overwhelming joy to my heart more than seeing my kids interact with one another.  Lately, most of the focus goes from older siblings towards Sarah, the 15 month old, which frequently causes a bad case of heart-exploding-itis.  

Sadly, the older two have grown apart, especially over the summer where they have very little time away from each other.  They are more worried about finding transgressions to whine about than finding ways to have fun together.  This becomes very clear when Jack talks about his sisters.  Sarah can do no wrong, Kaylee can do no right.  It’s sad really.

So I wasn’t surprised when they got into a huge fight shortly after Jack got home on his second day of school

It seems that he is learning site words, and each day he gets a new paper key with a new site word.  He cuts out the key, colors it, and the teacher puts it on a huge key ring for him.  The first day he brought it home he treated it like a treasure, which means Kaylee HAD TO HAVE IT.  Within seconds she was running across the room with the single paper key in hand, with Jack running full tilt after her whining all the way.  She stole it no less than 4 times that night.

This has continued any time the keys come out, the fight continues.  Fast forward to yesterday, Jack asked in desperation “why does she keep stealing my keys?”  I explained, gently, “it’s because she sees how much you like them and she wants to have some too.”  I then suggested, as an afterthought, “you could see if your teacher would let you bring some home for Kaylee.”

As is typical, I then completely forgot that conversation ever happening.  When I got home from work, Jack ran up to me excitedly to show me…3 paper keys, all colored in, with Kayllee (sic) written across the back. He told me that he asked his teacher for extra keys to take home for his sister.   

BOOM!!!  That is the sound of my heart exploding.  I was impressed that he thought of his sister and equally impressed at his lack of fear in asking an authority figure a question like that.  As a shy kid growing up, I couldn’t imagine doing that.  And lastly I was genuinely proud of him.  And as if that wasn’t enough, when I got down to his level to say to him “I am really proud of you for thinking of your sister, and doing something to make her so happy” he said, with genuine excitement “YOU ARE?  Oh Thank You!” and threw his arms around me to put an exclamation point on the whole thing.

I love that kid.

WP_20140904_002

From → Uncategorized

3 Comments
  1. Leslie permalink

    That has to be one of the most touching stories I have read!

  2. lardavbern permalink

    Very cool that it worked out and nice parenting moment on your part. Maybe, this can propel them to actually get along.

  3. Thanks 🙂

    We actually had our first moment yesterday of all three kids actively playing together without any fighting. It was a genuinely magical moment!

Leave a Reply

